About Me

Im a Stay at home mother of 6 children. Myrissa is age 20, Jacub is 18, Victorea is 16, Whitnee is 12, Kirk is 9 and Alivia is 4. We are also getting ready to adopt again! Our sweet new girl is Jessica and is 17!Our newest household addition is Lexee, she is 2 years old. We also have quite a few kids who call us Mom and Dad. My husband is studying for the ministry. We are a very busy family. I want to make sure all you other busy moms, dads, ladies and gents out there get the deals I do. If you would like me to do a review and or giveaway, I'd be happy to share your product with my readers. Contact me for more information. fivelilbassintow@yahoo.com (Please note that most of my email replies go to spam folders so if you contact me and don't hear back, this could be why, please check your spam folder for my reply) You should also check out my co bloggers, if you have a chance. Nicole does book reviews and Jeffrey does outdoor related review, fishing, camping and outdoors.
Showing posts with label Food Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Food Review. Show all posts

Friday, October 21, 2016

Lime Green Silicone Cutting Board






I personally love this board. It is thick so will not bend under your cuts. I was cutting pretty hard and there are no marks on the mat. The green color is nice and bright. This won't get lost in the cupboards. You can roll up and "lock" into place to pour out the food you cut. VERY easy to wash, when done. I just used hot water and soap. I like that sort of clean up!


You can purchase this cutting board for $17.97

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XU6NDSM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1




Welch's Halloween Designed Fruit Snacks and Safety Tips


We like to find healthier choices for the kids on Halloween. Fruit snacks are a good option since they don't look like fruit. You can sneak it in, if you have to. My kids love fruit snacks. Although, I have to say that Welch's fruit snacks are more like gummy candies.

You can find these snacks at your local grocery store. So much fun. These have pumpkins, ghosts, bats and witches shapes. Check your local grocery store today! You have just a week left before those little ghouls and goblins coming knocking at your door.


Available in the Mixed Fruit Variety, the 28ct boxes is available nationally for $4.99.


Kids get so excited on this day. They are all dressed up and ready for the free candy!! BUT stop and share these safety tips with them so everyone can have a happy and safe time trick or treating.


#1. ALWAYS look both ways! Even though you are out trick or treating there are still people out there who are not and they are not watching for you or your child.

#2. If you are driving somewhere make sure you have enough gas and a phone to call home in any emergency. You do not want to be in the dark with no way to reach someone.

#3. NEVER go into a strangers house! If they invite you in politely decline and leave. Try to stay with an adult or let your parents know exactly which direction you are going and have a curfew.

#4. Vandalism is never cool! Throwing eggs at cars and houses is not cool. Someone has to clean it up and it could be you, if you get caught. You can also be arrested and punished as a juvenile. So, don't think that it's fun only if you can get away with it. It's never the right thing to do! Think about how you would feel if someone did that to your house and how bad it would make you feel. (I got this one from a safety site)

#5. Try to wear something bright on your costume. Black costumes cant be seen in the dark and pose more of a risk of getting hit by a car. Carrying light sticks in a good way to ensure being seen.

#6. Consider using a flashlight or glow stick instead of a candle to light your pumpkin. If you do use a candle, a votive candle is safest.

#7. Do not approach a vehicle looking for directions or a missing child. Find an adult.

#8. If someone tries to grab you scream, kick and draw as much attention to yourself as possible.

#9. Do not take shortcuts or cut through alley ways always stay in well lit areas

Have a happy and safe Halloween!

https://www.facebook.com/welchsgrapes/

I was sent a bag of these yummy snacks, to show you a new design. I hope that you like!

Monday, October 10, 2016

Lasten Wooden Rolling Pin




My 15 year old, daughter, loves to bake! The one thing she has repeatedly asked for is a rolling pin.

There are many different rolling pins out there. You can get plastic, metal, ones with designs on them and wood. I have looked up so many of them to see which is the best. Plastic can melt a little over time or become misshapen. Metal has been a good contender on which one to pick. I thought just for the fun of it getting one with the little designs. But, after seeking it out. The dough can get stuck in some of the little grooves and then it's a mess. So wood it is!

This does not have handles on the end, like some of the rolling pins. I have found that those tend to come loose after time. I like the one piece shape of this pin.

This Lasten rolling pin is easy to use. Easy to wash, also. Which, if you have baked, that is a good product attribute. Baking is a messing thing in itself. I personally really liked this pin.

You can purchase this rolling pin and it's 100% money back guarantee (if not satisfied)for $8.99

https://www.amazon.com/Lasten-Rolling-Consistent-Professional-Non-Stick/dp/B01IONCIFE/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1473652831&sr=8-1-fkmr1&keywords=Wooden+Rolling+Pins

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Hampton Creek Foods



We don't have too many food allergies, in this house. The main ones are just that my oldest daughter cannot drink any % of milk. The milk has to be skim. The other one, is that I cannot eat any bread products. So, I eat a lot of gluten free. With having said that, we are always looking for gluten free, and sometimes, dairy free. Hampton Creek has lots of those type for you.

Just Mayo is not only gluten free but it is also soy free and egg free.

Important Information

Indications
Nutrition Facts Serving size: 1 tablespoon Nutrient Qty %DV Calories 90 Calories from Fat 90 Total Fat 11 g 17% Saturated Fat 1 g 5% Sodium 65 mg 3% Is or Contains Kosher Is or Contains Gluten Free ServingSize-InGrams 14 g

Ingredients
Non-GMO Expeller-Pressed Canola Oil, Filtered Water, Lemon Juice, White Vinegar, 2% or Less of the Following: Organic Sugar, Salt, Apple Cider Vinegar, Pea Protein, Spices, Garlic, Modified Food Starch, Beta-Carotene, Calcium Disodium EDTA (to Preserve Freshness).

Directions
Just Mayo. Flavors unleashed. Non-GMO; Cholesterol-free; Vegan; Egg-free; Dairy-free; Soy-free; Lactose-free; Gluten-free; Kosher; No artificial colors or flavors.

We were loving the creamy flavor. Very easy to spread and no nasty smells.

My recommendation is that if you have food allergies, try this! I am betting you will love!

Check out this recipe with one of their other products...yum yum



You can purchase this container from Amazon for $10.13 but I have heard it is much cheaper from Walmart

https://www.amazon.com/Hampton-Creek-Original-Gluten-Indivdual/dp/B00KOHNX6C/ref=sr_1_1_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1473875728&sr=8-1&keywords=Just+Mayo



You can find this company and it's products on Social medias, all over!

https://www.facebook.com/hamptoncreek

https://twitter.com/hamptoncreek

https://plus.google.com/+hamptoncreek

https://www.youtube.com/user/hamptoncreekfoods

https://www.pinterest.com/hamptoncreekinc/

https://www.instagram.com/hamptoncreek/

https://www.linkedin.com/company/hampton-creek

https://www.hamptoncreek.com/

I was sent this product in exchange for my honest review. Thank you for reading. All opinions are my own.

Friday, September 2, 2016

Keep Healthy Bars






There are quite a few different types of bars.

Date bars:
Apple Walnut
Apricot Coconut
Cashew Date
Pecan Date

Chocolate Covered Bars:
Chocolate covered apple walnut date bar
Chocolate covered apricot coconut date bar
Chocolate covered cashew date bar
Chocolate covered pecan date bar



Original Fruitkies:
Strawberry Apple
Pineapple Coconut
Cherry Walnut
Papaya Cashew
Cranberry Pumpkinseed
Cherry Fig
Blueberry Pecan
Mango Almond
Macadamia Date

Chocolate Covered Fruitkies:
Chocolate covered apricots
Chocolate covered mango
Chocolate covered blueberries
Chocolate covered papaya
Chocolate covered cherries
Chocolate covered pineapple
Chocolate covered cranberries
Chocolate covered strawberries

For those who need to be a little sugar conscious or for diabetics Keep Healthy has a line of Low Glycemic Bars. Each bar has 12g of protein and 6g of fiber.

Coconut Crunch
Lemon Zest
Banana Nut
Chocolate Cherry Mint
Sea Salt Brownie

Looking for Protein? Keep Healthy has bars with 15g of plant based proteins.

Chocolate Coconut
Apple Cinnamon Crisp
Chocolate Cherry Crunch
Strawberry Banana Crisp
Almond Vanilla Crisp
Chocolate Fudge

If you can't find a flavor or a bar you like, you aren't looking. My family chose the Sea Salt Brownie and the Chocolate covered ones as their favorites.

Great snack to toss in the lunch bag, diaper bag, backpack or work out bag! Great for on the go.








Their ingredients
All of their ingredients are certified
gluten-free
vegan
non-gmo
kosher
dairy-free
no preservatives
no agave
no stevia
no sugar alcohols
no artificial sweeteners

Their bars are manufactured in a plant that processes tree nuts and soy. Each bar case has it's specific ingredients in the description.



To learn more about this company, check out all their social media accounts

https://www.facebook.com/keephealthyinc

https://twitter.com/keephealthyinc

https://www.instagram.com/keephealthyinc/

http://keephealthyinc.com/

I was sent a sample box of bars in exchange for my honest review

Thursday, September 1, 2016

30-Piece Cake Decorating Tips set- 26 Stainless Steel





Are you looking for a way to make sure that your baking looks professional? My daughter loves to bake. Anything from jello cake to birthday cakes. She is also a perfectionist. So when I saw that I could do the review on these, I was super excited!


This comes with 30 pieces but only 26 are stainless steel

● 26 Stainless steel tips
● 1 Flower nail
● 1 FREE Plastic coupler
● 1 FREE Silicone Pastry Bag

● 1 FREE decorating tip guide
● 1 Plastic Storage case



Great way to style up those treats with perfect spirals or learn to make flowers.


Easy to clean! Just soak in hot water and lay out to dry.


You can purchase this product from Amazon for $18.97

https://www.amazon.com/Lit-Boutique-Professional-Decorating-Tips/dp/B01EWWYOBC?ie=UTF8&*Version*=1&*entries*=0



OmniGreen (OG) Labs Dietary Fiber Supplement






So I have found that taking a fiber supplement is totally the way to go. Due to bathroom issues, a couple of my kids need to take something in order to keep things moving the way they should.

Very thin powder. Mixes amazingly well. No clumping! I do not like clumpy drinks. I felt it mixed just as well in cold as in hot.

I was impressed and not just cause I was doing a review for it. I got kids to take the fiber!


You can purchase this from Amazon for $15.99

https://www.amazon.com/OmniGreen-Labs-Dietary-Supplement-Servings/dp/B01INPXXC0/ref=cm_rdp_product



Saturday, August 20, 2016

Rustic Pizza Crusts

My family had fun making these pizzas. We don't get to have pizza too often because the size of our family.

We had cheese and mushroom pizzas. The sauce was super yummy and the crust was so easy to prepare. These do freeze well, also.


The kids devoured the pizzas and asked for more!







Ingredients:

· 1 Italian herb pizza crust

· 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pounded thin

· Salt and pepper

· 2 cups flour

· 3 eggs, beaten in bowl

· 2 cups panko bread crumbs

· 1 cup vegetable oil

· 1 ½ cups tomato sauce

· 1 cup thinly sliced mozzarella

· ¼ cup grated Parmesan

· 1/8 cup parsley chopped

· 1/8 cup basil chopped



Directions:

1. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

2. To start set up your breading station, with one bowl of flour, one bowl of eggs, one bowl of panko bread crumbs

3. Season with salt and pepper, then dredge the chicken in flour, beaten eggs, then panko. Fry the chicken in vegetable oil until golden brown and cooked through, remove from oil and blot fried chicken on paper towels

4. To build the pizza, spread the tomato sauce evenly around pizza crust, sprinkle the Parmesan and mozzarella over the pizza, slice the chicken in ½ slices and place on top of the cheese.

5. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown

6. Finish with fresh parsley and basil


You can check out all their great products if you click here: http://www.rusticcrust.com/

All Rustic Crust ready-made crusts are:

· Made using traditional, Old World baking methods: Hand formed and double proofed for flavor

· Use delicious, all natural ingredients: Select herbs and spices, no GMOs or artificial ingredients

· Healthy for the whole family: Unbleached whole grain flours, no trans fats and no added sugar

· Convenient ready-made pizza crusts that are ready to enjoy in minutes

· Oversized Rounds for extra value

· Made in the USA



You can also check out their social media sites:

https://www.facebook.com/RusticCrust
https://twitter.com/rusticcrust
https://www.pinterest.com/rusticcrust/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoj-FdaYQA4BdlF6-OIm7eA

Friday, August 19, 2016

Banana Ricotta Ice Cream



Banana Ricotta Ice Cream created by Executive Chef, Anthony Stewart at Pritikin Longevity Center + Spa

4 servings

Ingredients:
•1 pound very ripe bananas (peeled, vacuum sealed, and frozen)
•1 cup fat-free ricotta cheese
•2 tablespoons orange juice
•1 teaspoon orange zest
•¼ teaspoon nutmeg, ground
•1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Procedure:
1.Remove bananas from freezer and let sit for 5 minutes (until they begin to defrost around the edges).
2.Place ricotta cheese in a food processor and pulse.
3.Chop the bananas and add to the food processor along with all remaining ingredients.
4.Puree until smooth and creamy.
5.Scoop mixture into a plastic bowl and cover with food-grade plastic wrap, making sure the plastic wrap touches the top of the mixture. Place in the freezer for 15 to 20 minutes.

Citrus Fennel Mango Salad



Citrus Fennel Mango Salad by Executive Chef, Anthony Stewart, at Pritikin Longevity Center + Spa

Yield: 8

Ingredients:
•2 Bulbs fennel julienne
•1 Grapefruit (supreme)
•2 Oranges (Supreme)
•3 Mangoes (peeled & julienne)
•¼ Bu Cilantro chopped
•1 t chopped garlic
•1 Red onion julienne
•1 Red pepper julienne
•1 Green pepper julienne
•1 carrot julienne
•1 # Lettuce (chopped)

Dressing:
•1 T Low sodium stone ground mustard
•¼ C Rice wine vinegar
•2 T Apple juice concentrate

Procedures:
1.Combine all Vegetables in a bowl
2.In a separate bowl combine all ingredients for dressing and mix well
3.Add dressing to vegetables and let stand for 15 minutes
4.Serve on a bed of chopped lettuce

Chilled Tomato, Watermelon, and Basil Soup





Chilled Tomato, Watermelon, and Basil Soup created by Executive Chef, Anthony Stewart at Pritikin Longevity Center + Spa

Serves 4

Ingredients:
•1 cup canned low-sodium plum tomatoes
•¼ cup low-sodium tomato puree
•1 cup chopped watermelon (seedless)
•½ teaspoon chopped garlic
•¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
•½ teaspoon orange zest *
•1 tablespoon basil, chiffonade (cut into thin strips)
•Garnish: Four sprigs of fresh basil

Procedure:
1.Using a grater or microplane, shave off the peel of an orange to make ½ teaspoon of shavings
2.The shavings are your zest, which add strong, wonderfully citrus flavor to foods
3.Use only the colored part of the peel, not the bitter white pith beneath

Preparation:
1.Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend well.
2.Chill. Before serving, garnish each bowl with a sprig of fresh basil.

Nutrition Information (per serving):

35 calories, 0g fat, 0g saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 1g protein, 2g fiber, 15mg sodium.

Sunday, July 17, 2016

Keliwa Silicone Muffin & Cupcake Baking Pan




We love silicone bakewear in this house. It doesn't rust. Doesn't seem to burn as easy.

So easy to clean! Just soapy hot water or toss in the top shelf of the dishwasher.
You don't even need to use sprays to keep it from sticking. We usually do, out of habit, but it's not a necessity.

So many things that you can make. You can also fill with home made baby food and store in the freezer and then pop the frozen logs out and store in a freezer bag.

We made corn muffins tonight and they were delish!





Product Description
•KELIWA SILICONE MUFFIN & CUPCAKE PAN

PREMIUM QUALITY & BRIGHT COLOR:Our full-sized, Muffin Pans are made from high quality 100% food grade silicone and are FDA approved.
EASY TO USE: Our Brightly colored muffin pan will fit perfectly in your oven, To use it you simply have to place the pan on a cookie sheet, Fill and bake following recipe instructions.
NON-STICK BAKING: Silicone has excellent heat regulation properties, So when you follow the recipes accordingly non stick baking is assured
EASY TO CLEAN! Our stain-resistant, FDA Food Grade Silicone Muffin Pan are completely dishwasher safe so cleaning is always quick, simple, and worry-free!
FUN & VERSATILE! Not just for Muffin! Can also be used for cupcakes, Chocolate Coffee Smoothies,Mini lasagna cups,Baked Oatmeal Cups,Chicken Pot Pie Cups AND SO MUCH MORE!!

-Constructed of high quality 100% pure food grade silicone; meets FDA approval for silicone bakeware


-Non-stick pans clean beautifully; stain and odor resistant; muffin/cupcakes retain shape; no more scrubbing scraping
-Muffins/Cupcakes release easily from pan by pressing on the base and popping them out
-Heat Resistant up to 450° F; Dishwasher, oven, freezer and microwave safe
-Folds easily in small areas; pans retain their original shape; no more storage or stacking problems


You can purchase this muffin pan from Amazon for $9.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NP8M67Y/

Thursday, July 14, 2016

Karate Party Pk for 16






Such a cute little set. It comes with:

Karate dinner plates
dessert plates
fun lunch napkins
paper cups

The plates are sturdy and the cups didn't leak like most paper cups.

We added this set to the ninja set since karate and ninja go mostly hand in hand.


You can purchase this little set for $19.99

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01FINUIKU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


Ninja Birthday Pack for 8




There are so many awesome things that I can say about this set! My son wants to be a ninja when he grows up. He has had this dream for years. When I saw this set, I knew it was perfect. Between the balloons, bracelets and plastic cups, you have treats for the kids. the rest is all fun decor for the party.


The balloons were strong. Each one with held a beating my little ones.

The plates are sturdy plates. My son was so excited for this set! Made a boys best 9th birthday ever. I think he will hide his ninja cup so that only he can use it.

Party pack comes with:

1. cool ninja master dinner plates
2. dessert plates
3. lunch napkins
4. ninja master 16oz plastic cups
5. paper cups
6. invitations
7. wristbands
8. fun ninja master themed balloons

You can purchase this set for $34.99

https://www.amazon.com/Ninja-Master-Deluxe-Party-Guests/dp/B01D0KVEFQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1466771050&sr=8-1&keywords=ninjago+party+supplies+deluxe+pack


Saturday, July 2, 2016

Slammers Snack Pouches To Go





I know that I said this in a recent post but we are a family who is always on the go. I am always in search of a new snack to keep on hand. It is nice to be able to grab and go. I can't always afford to stop somewhere to get the kids a treat. It gets way to expensive and with 10 people in the house, it's a no go.


With all that said, Slammers are a great treat. I love that it is on the healthier side. Sometimes the quick snacks aren't so healthy.

Slammers come in:

Awesome- Acai, strawberry and apple

Chill'n- Banana, blueberry, Butternut squash, Greek yogurt, and, yumberry

Epic- Bananas, carrots, mangos, greek yogurt and real vanilla

Pumped- Banana, mango, butternut squash, antioxidant grains and cinnamon

We liked them. You can eat them room temperature, shove them in the fridge or drop them in the freezer. I recommend that if you are going to be out for a long period of time that you drop yours in the freezer. That way, when you are ready to eat them, they are still cold.


These are each 3.17oz and small enough to toss in the diaper bag or in the duffle bag for a soft ball game.

Each box comes with 4 pouches. I have seen that you can purchase from Target. But, you can also purchase from Amazon.

For $19.99 you get 2- 4pks for a total of 8 pouches

https://www.amazon.com/Organic-Slammers-Superfood-Awesome-Pouches/dp/B00KKNPRYG/ref=sr_1_1_s_it?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1467473115&sr=1-1&keywords=slammers+pouches

I was sent a couple boxes to use and post my honest review

Friday, July 1, 2016

Welchs Fruit Snacks



Our 3 little ones could live on fruit snacks if we would let them. I love the ease of having them.

Quick car ride, take a few packs. After nap treat, pass them a pack. Need a snack for work, toss a pack in your purse. Literally, anyone can eat these.

You can do so many things with fruit snacks. You can add to jello, use as cake toppings, toss in a peanut butter sandwich instead of jelly. You can even put in a mix with peanuts, raisins, cheese crackers and more. The possibilities are endless.

How do you like to eat your fruit snacks?!


3-Piece Silicone Spatula Set





I love any product that will withstand a household of 10! These are nice and heavy duty. I have 1 child who bakes all the time.

She loved to use these. The 3 sizes were great for different cooking projects.


Because of it being silicone, the cake mixes and such just slide right off the spatulas. That is nice so you don't have to use your fingers or another utensil.



The clean up is super easy. Hot water and soap or toss in the top of the dishwasher.

Each one of the spatulas has a hole in the end so that you can hang on hooks instead of tossing in the utensil drawer.

You can purchase this 3 piece set for $7.99

https://www.amazon.com/Silicone-Heat-resistant-Spatulas-Professional-Crystal-like/dp/B01DUI07RY?ie=UTF8&keywords=homegarden%20spatula&qid=1461937889&ref_=sr_1_2&sr=8-2#customerReviews