About Me

Im a Stay at home mother of 6 children. Myrissa is age 20, Jacub is 18, Victorea is 16, Whitnee is 12, Kirk is 9 and Alivia is 4. We are also getting ready to adopt again! Our sweet new girl is Jessica and is 17!Our newest household addition is Lexee, she is 2 years old. We also have quite a few kids who call us Mom and Dad. My husband is studying for the ministry. We are a very busy family. I want to make sure all you other busy moms, dads, ladies and gents out there get the deals I do. If you would like me to do a review and or giveaway, I'd be happy to share your product with my readers. Contact me for more information. fivelilbassintow@yahoo.com (Please note that most of my email replies go to spam folders so if you contact me and don't hear back, this could be why, please check your spam folder for my reply) You should also check out my co bloggers, if you have a chance. Nicole does book reviews and Jeffrey does outdoor related review, fishing, camping and outdoors.
Showing posts with label Movie and CD reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie and CD reviews. Show all posts

Thursday, March 10, 2016

USB 2.0 External Drive DVD VCD CD RW Drive Burner








I got this for my daughters laptop. I figured she could take her dvds and her music with her. Just plug it into the USB port in your computer and it will install for you.

Almost seemless setup on Windows 10


Great for a student or for travel. You can pack this with your stuff and use on the plane. Have a long car trip? Save yourself caos just all the little ones.

I loved how easy this was to use. I would totally buy this.

You can purchase this product from Amazon for $24.99

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BS0Y0TC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00

Product Description
1.Plug and Play. Full compatible with USB 2.0 / USB 3.0



1.Compatible with WindowsXP/windows2003/Windows8/ windows10 Vista/7, Linux, Mac10 OS, OS X Yosemite, 2015 27" retina iMac, Macbook Pro with OS 10.10.5, macbook air version 10.9.5, imac with el capitan - os x 10.11
Power by USB, no need any other power source, no need to install any driver program. Powered by sigal USB port, just connect it to any PC or MAC with the USB connector, then it will read the disc automatically.



1.With Slim, Light-weight and Shockproof Design, you can put it in the travelling bag or on your deskThis superdrive is for ultrabook, netbook or PC, you can playback CD and DVD, and record CD( ONLY BURN CD)which will give you perfect effect when you are watching DVD videos, installing software, or create backup discs, etc.3.



Sunday, January 31, 2016

WAVEstream Wireless Speaker





You can use this blue tooth speaker with any of these IOS 7 or above, IPOD / TOUCH (5TH GEN) / IPAD3 / IPAD AIR / IPAD AIR2/IPAD MINI / IPAD MINI2 / IPAD MINI3, IPHONE 4S, 5, 5s, 5C / IPHONE6 / IPHONE6 PLUS / Samsung Galaxy S6 / Galaxy S5, S4, S3, SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE2, SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE 10.1 Google Nexus, Microsoft Surface, HTC, Motorola X & MORE Models

We used this with the Galaxy S5. Worked great! My oldest son used to take this to work with him and the whole store loved this better than the stores radio.

You can purchase this in blue, black, red and pink.

You can purchase this product for $19.99

http://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Speakers-WAVEstream-Speakerphone-Compatibility/dp/B00UZK5UZK/ref=sr_1_1?s=wireless&ie=UTF8&qid=1454286387&sr=1-1&keywords=WAVEstream+Wireless+Speaker



Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Hermie and Friends: I Will Trust God DVD



Hermie and Friends is a series by Max Lucado. The DVD comes with 2 stories for your child to watch.

The first one is a story like Noah. Hermie and the High Seas. It shows the importance of following God's directions, with faith, even if you don't understand why. God calls on Hermie, during a drought, and tells him to build a boat. Hermie tries to get his friends to help but only one friend would help him. All the other bugs came to make fun of him and then...it started to rain. The other bugs began to panic and Hermie invites them aboard to sail the seas. It shows the children that following Gods will can save your life.

My favorite Character on this one was the Elvis Bee!





The kids were stuck in front of the television watching this DVD.

The 2nd Show on the DVD is called Who is in Charge Anyway?

This episode shows that God has a purpose for everyone and everything. Each person has it's place. God Doesn't Make Mistakes!


This will definitely be a majorly watched DVD


We are now Hermie lovers! We had never seen the Dvd's before. So glad I got to review this one.

Feel free to check them out on Amazon:


http://www.amazon.com/Will-Trust-God-Max-Lucado/dp/1400323045/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1396977809&sr=8-1&keywords=I+Will+Trust+God+dvd

Each DVD costs 11.69

You can also purchase from the Tommy Nelson Website

http://www.thomasnelson.com/i-will-trust-god.html

for $12.99 each

Check out Tommy Nelson/Thomas Nelson social sites

https://www.facebook.com/thomasnelsonfan

https://twitter.com/ThomasNelson

I received this DVD to watch and post my honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you for reading!

Saturday, March 15, 2014

The Adventures of Mouse and Mole DVD Review and Giveaway

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.


Product Description

This series originally aired in BBC is a sparkling adaptation of Joyce Dunbar's classic stories about practical Mouse and capricious Mole. Mouse and Mole live together in a little cottage in the country. Mouse is practical and cheerful. Mole gets into scrapes and needs mollycoddling. Their everyday adventures appeal to adults and children alike. the charm of the stories lies in the endearing friendship of the two central characters and the humor of their exchanges.
Your children will delight in the everyday adventures of these lovable companions as they help each other navigate through good times and bad. Each colorfully animated story playfully explores the joys and complexities of friendship. Bursting with warm humor from start to finish, these universal and timeless stories are a treat for the whole family.
VOL. 1 EPISODES:
Preposterous Puddle
Tidying Up
Stuff
The Daffodil
Least Expecting
The Picnic
The Hammock
Whiskers
Half A Banana
Catch A Falling Leaf


VOL. 2 EPISODES:
Talk To Me
Spectacles
Pebbles
Hip Dip Dip
A Frisky Fluttery Ghost
A Fresh Start
The Secret Of Happiness
Atishoo!
A Sad Moment

My 9 year old daughter loved this DVD. She watched it every night for quite awhile to go to sleep.


The 2 characters in the DVD definitely are a cute set of friends. The stories are sweet and easy to follow.

You can purchase this DVD from Amazon for $8
http://www.amazon.com/The-Adventures-Mouse-Mole-Volume/dp/B001ULDK0U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1394919675&sr=8-1&keywords=adventures+of+mouse+and+mole

Or instant video from Amazon for $1.99

Appropriate for Ages 3 & Older!



You can also buy it off Organa for $12.50 each volume.

http://www.organa.com/kids/adventures-of-mouse-mole.html

https://www.facebook.com/organakids

https://twitter.com/OrganaKids

a Rafflecopter giveaway


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Saturday, February 22, 2014

PicGIF Software Review

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.


PicGIF is an easy and quick GIF maker that allows you to create fun animated GIFs from your photos and videos on Mac OS X. It allows to re-edit your existing GIFs.

Key Features: •Multiple import file formats: hundreds of image formats, GIFs, all common video formats.
Lots of customizing features: size, frame delay, frame order and sequence, text, etc.
Convenient export and share options.
Regarding video tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Z89p_D8Wpc
Check it on App Store: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/picgif/id784260229?ls=1&mt=12


There are three new image generators. A text generator, name generator and face in hole generator. With the text generator you can make glitter words and texts. And with the name generator you can add your name to almost every image on this website. The Face in Hole generator allows you to place a face from a photo into another photo such as a bodybuild.

This is such a neat program!! It is easy and fun to use. Just pick the picture you want to add words to and then use their software to add the words to it.

Here is an example:


This program only costs $4.99

Version: 1.0.0
Size: 1.4 MB
Language: English
Seller: PearlMountain Technology Co., Ltd

Compatibility: OS X 10.7 or later, 64-bit processor

This will only work for the Mac through the Apple store. To download PicGIF from the Mac App Store, you need a Mac with OS X 10.6.6 or later. Go check it out and have fun editing your projects.


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Saturday, December 14, 2013

Greatest Naps, Vol. 2: The Best of Jammy Jams

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.



I wasn't sure what to expect while review this set of tracks. It was such a calm and soothing set of music numbers that I wanted to take a nap. No joke! If your child likes to listen to music to go to sleep this is a definite need for them. The softness and gentleness is such a relief from most children's cd's these days. These 2 guys did a great job! Not only do they sell cd's but they also sell clothes to go with the cd's. Such a cute idea.

You can follow these guys on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/jammyjamsbaby

Twitter
https://twitter.com/jammyjamsbaby

and their website
http://jammyjams.bandcamp.com/

Each set of music ranges in price from $8-$26 depending on how you purchase it.

Check them out!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Sunday, October 27, 2013

Whstlefritz Spanish Learning Curriculm Review






Enrich Spanish instruction with the award-winning, multi-media Educator’s Collection from Whistlefritz. The Educator’s Collection provides a rich and diverse set of tools for Pre-K and early elementary Spanish teachers. Developed by creative and experienced educators, Spanish Lesson Plans for Kids is a scaffolded curriculum of 40 reproducible lessons that engage children in a diverse array of interactive, age-appropriate activities. Spanish for Kids DVDs teach vocabulary through an appealing blend of live action and animation ideal for visual learners. Spanish for Kids CDs get children on their feet singing and dancing to an irresistible mix of Latin songs and rhythms. The Matching Cards are a playful introduction to action words. Packed with fun, laughter, and music, the Educator’s Collection is a treasure trove of teaching activities and materials for the Spanish classroom!

We LOVE this program!! This curriculum is so easy to follow. The videos are perfectly geared towards the kids needs for learning Spanish. We homeschool 2 of our daughters. One if the girls picked Spanish as a class this year. She has really been enjoying the Whistlefritz system.


Here she is making her Spanish/English color wheel of balloons for Fritz's party.

This program has so many fun things to do. It teaches Spanish as a second language or would be great for just learning your home language.

http://www.whistlefritz.com/


This wonderful costs $175 and for your full curriculum it is well worth it! They also sell French.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Monday, August 26, 2013

Little Pim Languange Learning DVD System Review and Giveaway


My daughter decided last year, while deciding home school courses, that she wanted to learn Spanish. So we did a lot of You Tube learning. It really didn't help a lot. Most of the learning on there was just not really helpful for the beginner. We bought a English to Spanish Dictionary and that did help a little with making sure the word that she knew could be matched with the words in Spanish was just not the way we really wanted to go.

Spanish is spoken by over 60 million people in the US, and over 400 million people worldwide. With Little Pim, your child can learn over 360 Spanish words and phrases in preparation for an increasingly global world.

I happened to stumble upon Little Pim one day and thought I would message them and see if they would let me test out their system. Little Pim does not only do Spanish. They have many other languages to choose from.

Spanish
Chinese
French
Italian
German
Japanese
Hebrew
Arabic
Russian
English
Portuguese


The complete set is $219.99

Give your child the key to unlock 360 fundamental Spanish words and phrases. With the Spanish Complete Set, your little one will know a manzana (apple) from a naranja (orange) in no time!

The Spanish Complete Set includes:
•Six (6) videos: Eating and Drinking; Wake Up Smiling; Playtime; In My Home; Happy, Sad, and Silly; I Can Count! (digital or DVD)
•Four (4) Little Pim books: Colors; Feelings; Animals; Numbers
•One (1) Set of 60 Word & Phrase cards. This item is currently on backorder.
•One (1) 15-song Spanish Bop compilation (digital or CD)
•Plush Little Pim panda toy
•Little Pim Poster

Starring Little Pim, the animated, lovable panda bear, each video will captivate your child by turning everyday activities into fun adventures. With 42 episodes grouped into 6 kid-friendly themes, your child will never get bored of learning Spanish with Little Pim.

Each of the 4 board books in the set is in English, with key words in Spanish and French. The books weave vocabulary into hide-and-seek stories featuring Little Pim the panda and conclude with a helpful review of the words learned. Pronunciation guides for parents are included.

The flashcards round out the set as the perfect companion to reinforce Spanish vocabulary from the videos and books. Each card features an illustration accompanied by a word or phrase and its translation. The cards also indicate which Little Pim video introduces each word or phrase.

The set is available with DVDs, digital downloads, or both, so your little one can start learning Spanish right away! Select the set you’d like.


We were able to test DVD 4 and my daughter learned so much in just 1 DVD that I was so pleased! Even though she is 12 we still have to start at the beginning. You can't just jump into the middle of anything.

They also have single Dvd's of $8.95 each. They have animals, numbers, colors and phrases. Each one would be just as valuable as the last.

It was cute to watch as my daughter was repeating the words as Pim the Panda was saying them. Each time Pim said the the Spanish version the bottom of the screen shows the English version. It also shows a picture of what it is. The colors are vibrant, the animals are neat to watch. The videos were entertaining not just for her but for her siblings also. Hopefully they will pick up on the words also. It would be nice at 6 and 10 months for them to pick up the Spanish early. If you are looking for a way for your child to learn a new language and make it fun for them this is going to be a great way for them to do that! Little Pim you rock!!


Their web page even has a link at the bottom where you can print off color pages!

http://www.littlepim.com/

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, May 24, 2013

Michael Buble To Be Loved CD Review




This cd has some great songs on it! I loved that they were all upbeat.



Track Listing:



1. You Make Me Feel So Young

2. It's A Beautiful Day

3. To Love Somebody

4. Who's Lovin You

5. Something Stupid featuring Reese Witherspoon

6. Come Dance With Me

7. Close Your Eyes

8. After All featuring Bryan Adams

9. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You with Naturally 7

10. To Be Loved

11. You've Got A Friend In Me

12. Nevertheless (i'm in love with you) featuring The Puppini Sisters

13. I Got It Easy

14. Young At Heart

A couple of these were ones you would know from kids movies. With 6 kids it is a neat thing for them to know some of the songs and for the songs to be appropriate for them to sing. The music these days is a little on the harsh side for kids. Michael has a great voice.



His Cd To Be Loved released on April 23rd, 2013 and costs around $9.99 for the Cd

http://store.michaelbuble.com/music-1/to-be-loved-cd.html

Great Cd with great music! Check it out!



Five Lil Bass In Tow was not compensated for this review. I was sent a link to listen to the songs. I did this review for One2One Network

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Rod Stewart's New Album Time Review





More About Time:



Stewart wrote and produced 11 of the album's 12 cuts. The first two singles off the album, She Makes Me Happy and Finest Woman, are available now.



Stewart rediscovered the spark for songwriting while reviewing his life for his recent memoir.



Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head, he says. Next thing I knew, I had a song called 'It's Over' about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn't done, and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record.



Along with the release of Time, Stewart is set to embark on the European leg of his Live the Life tour on June 1st, while American dates with Steve Winwood will kick off October 17th.

Time Track Listing:
1. She Makes Me Happy-My 2nd favorite song on the album
2. Can’t Stop Me Now- My 3rd favorite song on the album
3. It’s Over
4. Brighton Beach
5. Beautiful Morning-my very first favorite song on this album!
6. Live The Life
7. Finest Woman
8. Time
9. Picture In A Frame
10. Sexual Religion
11. Make Love To Me Tonight
12. Pure Love

Each of these songs were very upbeat. All of them "feel good" songs! If you like a great song to dance around the house to or to listen to when you are having a down day this might be a good cd to listen to.

You can purchase these songs through I-Tunes https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/time/id619551949




Five Lil Bass In Tow was not compensated for this review in any other fashion than I received this cd to review. I did this review through One2One Network.

Saturday, April 20, 2013

Bailey Berry Shoes Review and Giveaway





Founded in 2010, the BAILEY BERRY™ brand is the culmination of a two year mission to create the perfect kids' shoes. BAILEY BERRY™ is inspired by the vibrant environments of Manhattan, the Hamptons and the Adirondacks. Not wanting to sacrifice fashion for function BB STARS™ are fun and built to the highest quality standards.




A few different colors to choose from between girls and boys. Each set can be: pink, navy, black, red, beige or white.




Each Bailey Berry shoe comes with interchangeable straps for the back of shoe. My son loves that he can mix and match the straps or not even wear the straps at all.

Each pair also comes with their own mesh bag. My son likes to throw his toys in his when we go on car rides. Sometimes is a great bag to throw a few snack in to go to the park.





BB STARS™ are the latest in children’s shoes providing both functional design and fun for kids. This children's shoe is designed to be lightweight and protective. Each pair of shoes has our patented Reversa Strap™ with four different strap designs that kids can mix & match including Navy & White Stars, Red & White Stripes, Multi Stars and Kelly Green & Navy Stars. Children's bracelet and reusable waterproof mesh bag also included. BB STARS™ are designed for children ages 1-8, please click on our sizing chart for additional information.





Bailey Berry™ BB STARS™

Anti Microbial


Comfortable


Ergonomic


FUN


Lightweight


Protective


Reversa Strap™


Washable


Made of Recycled Materials


Bailey Berry shoes are made of such nice heavy EVA. (It is a polymer that approaches elastomeric materials in softness and flexibility, yet can be processed like other thermoplastics. The material has good clarity and gloss, barrier properties, low-temperature toughness, stress-crack resistance, hot-melt adhesive water proof properties, and resistance to UV radiation. EVA has little or no odor and is competitive with rubber and vinyl products in many electrical applications.Soccer cleats, are usually made from EVA) These will not fall apart like Walmart shoes do. Very worth the $38 per pair. My kids all hate to wear tennis shoes the warmer the weather is outside, but I hate for them to run around barefooted, so it is super nice to be able to grab these and go!

For every purchase made on BAILEYBERRY.com during the months of April and May, $5 will be donated to The Double H Ranch to contribute to the mission of Paul Newman to give all kids the chance to “kick back, relax and have lots of fun!”


http://www.baileyberry.com/

https://www.facebook.com/baileyberrykids








a Rafflecopter giveaway




Five Lil Bass In Tow was sent one pair to test and post honest review. This blog is not responsible for prize delivery

Friday, April 5, 2013

Professor Child film Children and Grief Review



This video is not just a documentary. It is children speaking to children about how grief has effected them.



Some of the children have lost a dad. Some have log siblings. Some have lost grandparents. But each one grieving in their own way.



Have your children lost someone and you didn't know how to tell them? Or you told them and it was just too over their heads? This can happen. We are grieving along with them. Sometimes we don't remember that our kids are young and need us to be there for them. I truly believe that sometimes kids learn better from other kids than they do from adults. But each child is different and each grieving process is different.



If your child is grieving I would sit them down and watch this with them. This is a 40 minute video or courageous children telling you their story. This is good for grades K-12 to watch. It costs $34.99 for the film and they have a free workbook that includes over 40 pages of exercises that go with the film. You can go to www.professorchild.com

I loved that almost every child spoke about their family member going to Heaven or being in Heaven. That really speaks to me that this film is great for our child library. I think I will be donating it to them after I write this review.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Friday, January 25, 2013

Emmy Rossum Sentimental Journey CD Review




TV Appearances:
•Emmy will performing a track from Sentimental Journey on Access Hollywood Live on January 25th.
•Emmy will also be appearing as a guest on Conan on January 28th, Chelsea Lately on January 29th, and The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson on February 6th





Sentimental Journey Track Listing:
1.“Sentimental Journey” (Les Brown, Ben Homer, Arthur Green)
2.“The Object Of My Affection” (Pinky Tomlin)
3.“I’m Looking Over A Four Leaf Clover “(Mort Dixon, Harry M. Woods)
4.“These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)” (Eric Maschwitz, Jack Strachey)
5.“(I’ll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time” (Albert Von Tilzer, Neville Fleeson)
6.“Summer Wind” (Heinz Meier, Johnny Mercer)
7.“Many Tears Ago” (Winfield Scott)
8.“All I Do Is Dream Of You” (Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed)
9.“Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Jimmy Cox)
10.“Autumn Leaves” (Joseph Kosma, Jacques Prévert)
11.“Things” (Bobby Darin)
12.“Pretty Paper” (Willie Nelson)


Sentimental Journey, releasing on January 29th, is a collection of classic covers that takes us through the American Songbook

•On Sentimental Journey, the multi-talented actress and singer brings her stellar voice to songs popularized by some of the most beloved artists of the last century.
•Emmy's 12-song 'passion project' is an emotional musical journey, with each song representing a month in the year.
•"Each song needed to either lyrically or emotionally reflect the corresponding month," Emmy explained. "Some songs were obvious fits, like Summer Wind for June, and Pretty Paper for December. Others songs were less literal fits. I chose Nobody Knows You (When You're Down and Out) for September because, to me, the plaintive melody and lyric emotionally reflect the cold weather creeping in and the sense of melancholy we can get in the fall months."
•Rossum is also an acclaimed actress who currently stars in the Showtime series Shameless with William H. Macy. She also stars alongside Emma Thompson and Viola Davis in the upcoming feature film Beautiful Creatures, which hits theaters on February 13th.


You can buy this cd on Amazon at:
http://www.amazon.com/Sentimental-Journey-Emmy-Rossum/dp/B00AA0U05A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357592272&sr=8-1&keywords=emmy+rossum

or through itunes

I loved this cd. She has quite a bit of talent. Our favorite in this house was the last song. Keep Young and Beautiful. I liked that even though it's a new cd and through Warner Brothers there was no screaming and super loud music. It was a definately young adult cd. Perfect for ages 12-18. I can't wait to hear more from Emmy.


*We were not monetarity compensated for this review. We received an advance copy of the cd to review. I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Shades of Grey by Andy Holloman Orangeberry book tours review





Shades of Grey by Andy Holloman


How far would you go to save your child's life? Could you break the law? What if your travel business was suddenly in danger of going under because of 9/11? A single father decides to partner up with woman from the opposite side of the tracks. Can their partnership deliver the cash they BOTH desperately need? Could they fall in love? And will they survive to see the Summer of 2002?
In the Fall of 2001, John’s life has fallen off a cliff. His six- year-old daughter, Lucy, needs a kidney transplant and his Durham, NC travel agency has been wrecked by the events of 9/11. He must find a way to secure a large amount of money quickly in order to pay for Lucy’s surgery. He’s been in tight places before but he’s currently out of solutions.

Wanda, a client of John’s travel agency, has had her livelihood hit hard by 9/11 also. She can no longer transport cocaine via airline flights due to increase airport security. Like John, she is a single parent and has wanted to get out of her line of work for several years. She needs more money to allow her and daughter Tonya, to move from Durham to California and break free of her boss, Jamel.

John and Wanda form a partnership around a plan to smuggle cocaine via cruise ships. His industry knowledge and connections would remove the transportation risks and she could handle the distribution and selling once they brought the drugs back to Durham.

Despite being nearly killed on their first run, it worked. Wanda coaxes John into another trip while Jamel is becoming suspicious of Wanda. John’s half-brother Travis, a Durham police detective battling his own demons, can’t connect the dots between John and Wanda . He continues to line his pocket with ill-gotten gains. Lucy and John are the most important people in his life and he would gladly provide them with financial help, if only John would ask.

How far should a father go to save his child? Can a man and woman from completely different worlds help each other? Could they fall in love? And which one of these people will live to see the summer of 2002? Find the answers in Shades of Gray, a debut novel by Andy Holloman.

(Combine “Breaking Bad” and “Cops” with a disturbing, dark remake of “The Love Boat” and you have all the flavors of SHADES OF GRAY)
check him out on Facebook at:
https://www.facebook.com/andygavin

And Twitter:

https://twitter.com/AndyHolloman

What a great first! Shades of Gray is Any Holloman’s debut novel, way to go. I had such an easy time reading this book, the characters were well thought of and planned and very relatable. I though the characters were very believable which always make a story easy to read. John Manning is like most fathers he would do anything for his daughter Lucy and when certain events happen that he cannot control, he makes some desperate decisions. This is definitely a story of love and loss and desperation. His wife leaves, his business is going under his insurance is cancelled and worst of all the wellbeing of his daughter. She needs a kidney transplant and he needs money so he team up with Wanda. Cocaine and murder all in the mix. The things these parents do for their children wouldn’t you? This book will keep you on your toes, lost of twists. There were points I could not put it down until I found out what happens next. It really gets you to thinking about what you would do if you were in John and Wanda’s shoes and how far you would go to get what you needed for the protection and health of your loved ones. I would recommend this book to any parents especially if you’re the thriller-suspense type. This is a sad story, don’t go into it thinking its fun and games, you can really feel Johns pain and anguish. If you would like to learn more about the author please visit his website at: http://andyholloman.com/Or you can visit Amazon.com and download his book for kindle. I was given this book to review by OrangeBerry Book Tours, all options’ are my own.Andy Holloman - Novel - "Shades of Gray"

you can also buy this novel at Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Shades-of-Gray-ebook/dp/B006FZLBF2/

This review is being hosted by my co-blogger Nicole Bass.
All views and opinions were he own.

Monday, January 14, 2013

Untimed- Orangeberry Book Tour Review


Untimed is an action-packed time travel novel by Andy Gavin, author of The Darkening Dream and creator of Crash Bandicoot and Jak & Daxter.

Charlie’s the kind of boy that no one notices. Hell, his own mother can’t remember his name. So when a mysterious clockwork man tries to kill him in modern day Philadelphia, and they tumble through a hole into 1725 London, Charlie realizes even the laws of time don’t take him seriously. Still, this isn’t all bad. Who needs school when you can learn about history first hand, like from Ben Franklin himself. And there’s this girl… Yvaine… another time traveler. All good. Except for the rules: boys only travel into the past and girls only into the future. And the baggage: Yvaine’s got a baby boy and more than her share of ex-boyfriends. Still, even if they screw up history — like accidentally let the founding father be killed — they can just time travel and fix it, right? But the future they return to is nothing like Charlie remembers. To set things right, he and his scrappy new girlfriend will have to race across the centuries, battling murderous machines from the future, jealous lovers, reluctant parents, and time itself.

http://www.amazon.com/Untimed-ebook/dp/B00AQN4OZS
$5.99 Kindle edition
$24 for Hardcover
$14.99 for Paperback

Connect with Andy Gavin on Facebook and Twitter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/andygavin
Twitter: https://twitter.com/michaeldadich

Who is Andy Gavin?

Andy Gavin is a serial creative, polymath, novelist, entrepreneur, computer programmer, author, foodie, and video game creator. He co-founded video game developer Naughty Dog and co-created Crash Bandicoot and Jak & Daxter. He started numerous companies, has been lead programmer on video games that have sold more than forty million copies, and has written two novels.


If you are into books about time travel this is a good book for you. I love time travel book with a twist of romance so this was right up my alley. Check out the book!

Monday, January 7, 2013

Hiding In The Sunshine Book Review

Hiding in Sunshine is the work of a father and daughter duo who reside in the immediate area where these fictional events transpire. John Stuart is a successful high tech entrepreneur. Caitlin Stuart is a student and an aspiring writer with a lifelong love of reading and telling stories. This is their first co-authored novel - and is proof that a teenager and her dad can indeed collaborate amicably and productively!


Book Blurb:
Living lives of quiet affluence in a historic, suburban Boston town, Gavin and Lisa Brinkley had no idea how quickly and decisively their lives, and those of their two young daughters, could be upended. A series of events - a mysterious break-in at their home, some menacing tailgating on the highway from Boston, a startling visit from an F.B.I. agent warning of an imminent kidnapping attempt - leads to the family's abrupt uprooting from its comfortable existence into a terrifying new existence on the run, under new identities. This taut thriller by a father-daughter team follows the eleven-year odyssey of an American family on the run, in hiding through the mountain states of the American west, where survival skills and living off the grid are paramount, but so are friendship, cooperation, and resilience. The enemy, always lurking just out of sight, is a foreign cyber-criminal enterprise that launches breathtaking assaults on the American banking system and physical infrastructure, but the Brinkleys also know that the threat is deeply personal, reaching ever closer to them from the shadows of the past. At the same time, Gavin and Lisa discover the perils of wandering too close to the edges of the dark side, in the murky world of cyber-security. A compelling story of suspense and treachery, HIDING IN SUNSHINE is also a celebration of a family's abiding love and courage -- and a young girl's faith in the triumph of the truth.

You can purchase this book through Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Hiding-Sunshine-John-Stuart/dp/1477283293

Or

Barnes and Noble:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hiding-in-sunshine-john-stuart/1113713316?ean=9781477283318


I received this from Influenster to read. Was a great book full of suspense. Kept you reading till the very end! I was impressed by them and will watch for new books coming out by these 2! Not very many people could take the time to sit down with their fathers and talk let alone write a book, they did a great job! You will love Gavin and Lisa!


Five Lil Bass In Tow was not monetarily compensated for this review. I was sent this book by Influenster to read and post review. All ideas and words are my own.






Sunday, December 9, 2012

Holiday For Kids e-book Review










About the Author
Charles Pascalar is an accomplished and insightful marketer, speaker, and writer. He has achieved success in many fields including a professional sports team championship, TV and radio appearances, leading nationally recognized, retail marketing departments, raising two great children, and being tolerated by a wonderful wife. He sits on numerous retail advisory boards and enjoys playing the piano, writing, dreaming, and traveling.

His personal and professional goals are simply "to make a difference".

This is his first book and hopes it will make a difference in the lives of children and parents everywhere.

You can find out more about Charles on linkedin, facebook, or twitter.
https://twitter.com/cpascalar or https://twitter.com/holidaysforkids

Book Summary:
“Be the coolest parent in the neighborhood, maybe in the world. It’s all in this book and so easy.

Every child and adult looks forward to enjoying the next big holiday season with their friends and family. What if you could celebrate several of those holidays every month with your kids? Give them some fun days that no other children experience. Give them low or no cost holidays that build a stronger emotional connection with them. Make their friends, and yours, look at you with envy over celebrating things that no one ever thought about. In this book, you will learn the most important birthday for your child and cool new holidays like One Day Fun Day, May Day Play Day, Awesome August Adventure Day, January Journey, September Search, Pie Day, Slurpee Day, and over forty others. Plus, learn how to celebrate the more traditional holidays like Christmas, Easter, Halloween, and President’s Day in fun new ways.

Learn bedtime and good-morning songs, how to educate your kids on things even teachers don’t know, and have your kids begging for more. This book took twelve years to develop all those cool things. It’s now available exclusively for you.”

My own words:

This book starts off with a list of the months of the year and the fun things that you can do as a family in those months.
It is also filled with neat things that people probably don't know about certain foods on certain holidays, such as you should not on New Years Eve eat:“Lobster, for instance, is a bad idea because they move backward and could therefore lead to setbacks."

This book was VERY informative and I fully plan of trying some of these neat ideas with my kids this next year! If you are looking for a neat book to read that will give you ideas and cool things to do with your family this is the book for you. You will not regret purchasing this book!

You can purchase this in Kindle, hardback and softback here at Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Holidays-For-Kids-ebook/dp/B008216ID2



I was in no way compensated for this review. All ideas and comments are my own.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Book review of Runaway Twin by Peg Kehret

This book is called Runaway Twin by Peg Kehret
197 pages long
A great book for ages 8-16. A perfect young adult reader.
This book is filled with action, suspense and some drama.




The following content was provided by the publisher.

Sunny longs to be reunited with her twin sister, Starr. With only an old photograph to guide her, Sunny begins the journey that she has dreamed of during her 10 years in various foster homes. Sunny manages to locate her twin, only to be faced with a whole new challenge.

Summary of book by Victorea Bass:
"Dear Readers: Hello, this author has written many books for kids my age before and after she wrote this one. Mrs. Kehret has inspired me to read her books because they make me happy, tearful and fully entertained. I will let you know that the title to this book is perfect for the story line. Runaway Twin is about a girl named Sunny who has been in a series of foster homes while her twin sister, Star, had been adopted. Star and Sunny were separated from each other at age 3. Sunny's Dad left the family and the girls were left in the care of their mom and grandma, until mom and grandma died in an auto accident. Sunny is now living with a new foster mom, Rita. She had many other families that she lived with before this one. I do not want to explain too much so that you can read and find out on your own. But I do want to say that there is a unusual twist ending. It will leave you upset that the book was over but happy at how it did end.

Just think when you read this book that even strange cravings can change your life. Sunny had this craving for Twinkies and her life took it's curve from there.

Characters:
Sunny-orphan
Star-Sunnys lost twin sister
Rita-Sunnys foster mother
Charlie-Cab Driver
Zooman, Hunker and Randy are unusual characters that she meets along the way
Al and Becky- Stars adopted parents


I really liked this book and I hope that you enjoy!






I would like to tell you that this book is definately worth your time. This book has 20 chapters.





Book can be bought at
Barnes and Noble:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/runaway-twin-peg-kehret/1100154931?ean=9780142418499&itm=1&usri=runaway+twin

Walmart $5 Paperback:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/14689541

Other books by this Author are:
The Stranger Next Door, Spy Cat, Trapped, Terror at the Zoo, Don't Tell Anyone, Searching for Candlestick Park, Saving Lily, Cages, The Volcano Disaster, Nightmare Mountain, I'm Not Who you Think I Am, Ghost Dog Secret, Deadly Stranger, Earthquake Terror, The Ghosts Grave, Trapped, Abduction and Stollen Children. All of which can be found at Walmart.com for around $5 for Paperback.

*we were in no way monetarily compensated for reading and reviewing this book. All opinions and comments are our own.

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Review of book Morrigan by Laura Deluca





Blurb:
Shuffled from place to place in the foster system, Morrigan doesn't know the meaning of home. Plus, she is different. She has power over fire, the ability to move objects with her mind, and glimpse into the future. Just when she believes her life can’t get any stranger, she discovers her true identity.
Filtiarn, a knight with a dark past and a surprising secret, has been tasked with guiding the heir of Tír Na NÓg through countless perils to be returned to her family. Once Morrigan has been reunited with her mother and grandmother, their triad can save the forgotten land of magic from being devoured by an ancient evil.
Short Excerpt
“Guardians!” A low snarl emanated from the back of his throat. “What are you doing with Guardians?”
“Stop it! Sit down!”
Morrigan wasn’t sure who she was addressing, the man or the animals. Luckily, they both obeyed her command. She stepped in between them to avoid any further confrontations. The cats took a seat on either side her legs, but their posture hardly relaxed. They still glared warily at the newcomer, even though their hisses died down to an occasional soft growl.
“Dirty, filthy beasts!” Tiarn snarled as he climbed to his feet. “I hate Guardians.”
“They’re just little cats,” Morrigan told him. “What’s the big deal?”
“Just cats! Hah!” He was standing at a careful distance, even though they had started licking their paws nonchalantly. “They are much more than simple cats! Though even those I find distasteful.”
Morrigan narrowed her eyes. “What do you mean?”
“Never mind. It does not matter.” Tiarn dismissed her question with a wave of his hand. “They are not coming with us.
“They most certainly are coming!”
Tiarn growled again. “I beg to differ with you, Your Highness. They would only get in the way. Possibly even get killed.”
Danu raised her head from her grooming to hiss at him again, as though she had taken that last statement as a personal threat. The strange reaction of her faithful sidekicks made Morrigan wonder again just how much Tiarn could be trusted. She also wondered why, when she wasn’t sure she could trust him, she still felt the undeniable urge to wrap her arms around his neck and kiss him.
“If they stay here alone, they’ll definitely get killed or at least sent to the pound,” Morrigan told him. “I can’t let that happen. So, they’re coming. End of story.”
Tiarn’s eyes flashed dangerously, and he looked like he wanted to argue, but thought better of it. “Very well, Princess. Bring your mongrel felines. Just keep in mind that Guardians and lycans do not mix well.”
“Lycans?” Morrigan repeated.
A sick feeling started to settle in her stomach, as the truth of his words sunk in. It all started to make sense—his hairy arms and chest, his reaction to the cats, even his earlier comment about smelling her out. Her dark knight had a much darker side than she had ever seen in her dreams.
“Why yes, Your Majesty. Did you not realize? You are a witch and a sorceress. And I, your faithful traveling companion, am a lycan—a werewolf.”



You can buy Morrigan online at these places:

http://www.amazon.com/Morrigan-ebook/dp/B00A46DKBG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1352473094&sr=1-1&keywords=morrigan+laura+deluca

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/morrigan-laura-deluca/1113768815?ean=2940015937893

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/253124

Here is what one reviewer had to say about this book:
"The elemental battle scene was unprecedented. I really think this was one of the best books I ever read. It was definitely the best of 2012 and I will certainly read it again and again."

You can follow Laura's books:
http://authorlauradeluca.blogpspot.com
www.twitter.com
www.facebook.com/authorlauradeluca

http://www.goodreads.com/authorlauradeluca







As this is the 2nd book I have read and reviewed for her, I want you to know that she is very talented. You can tell by her words that she has a passion for writing. Laura seems to take a lot of time and does a lot of research in order for her books to be accurate. When you read her books you really get involved with her characters. You get upset when they are upset or overjoyed when they are overjoyed. You will almost get upset when the story ends. I fully recommend her books.






Laura DeLuca has other books that she written that you might be interested in her current works include Destiny, Destiny Unveiled, Phantom, Morrigan and Player (comes out in '13), Demon (spring '13).

I did a review of Phantom which was a GREAT book! If you would also like to read that review you can read it here:
http://ltsteelswife.blogspot.com/2012/11/book-review-phantom-by-laura-deluca.html


*just so you know, since some beliefs might stop you from letting your child read books with certain content. This book has witches and werewolves

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Book Review- Phantom by Laura DeLuca

I offered Laura an opportunity for me to read her book and write a review. She sent the PDF of it to me, I was so intrigued that I started it this morning and just finished. This book is 262 pages long.







The summary of the story is:
The “Phantom” was a musical phenomenon that Rebecca had always found enchanting. She had no idea that her life was about to mirror the play that was her obsession. When her high school drama club chooses “Phantom” as their annual production, Rebecca finds herself in the middle of an unlikely love triangle and the target of a sadistic stalker who uses the lines from the play as their calling card.

Rebecca lands the lead role of Christine, the opera diva, and like her character, she is torn between her two co-stars—Tom the surfer and basketball star who plays the lovable hero, and Justyn, the strangely appealing Goth who is more than realistic in the role of the tortured artist.

Almost immediately after casting, strange things start to happen both on and off the stage. Curtains fall. Mirrors are shattered. People are hurt in true phantom style. They all seem like accidents until Rebecca receives notes and phone calls that hint at something more sinister. Is Justyn bringing to life the twisted character of the phantom? Or in real life are the roles of the hero and the villain reversed? Rebecca doesn’t know who to trust, but she knows she’s running out of time as she gets closer and closer to opening night. Only when the mask is stripped away, will the twenty first century phantom finally be revealed.




This book was definately written by a very talented writer. I look forward to more books from her. If you like books that are mysterious with some teen romance, then this is a book for you. I have to say I did love this book. I am not the only one who loved this book she has 4 and 5 stars for all of her reviews on www.Amazon.com This book would be appropriate for children ages 13-19 in my opinion. I would say more for the female audience. The chemistry between the 3 main characters will keep you captivated till the very end. I found myself emotional about certain things that happened throughout the story. I found myself rooting for Justyn and Becca, their relationship was not an ordinairy one. There are so many unpredictable twists throughout the book, even the ending will suprise you. I do recommend this book! I couldn't put it down.

This book can be bough from the following companies:
http://www.amazon.com/Phantom-ebook/dp/B007Q3W7XC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1342049064&sr=8-1&keywords=phantom+laura+deluca

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/146617

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/phantom-laura-deluca/1109825093?ean=9780984680092

http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Phantom/Laura-DeLuca/9780984680092?id=5506793812391


You can also read an excerpt of the book here:
“Lord…Justyn?”

It sounded more like a question than an audition call. Miss King looked slightly baffled as she scanned her paperwork and read the last name on her list of male candidates. Once she was certain she had read the name correctly, she called it out once more with a little more confidence. When she received no immediate response, she seemed ready to dismiss the whole thing as a joke. But then a strange black clad figure seemed to materialize in the corner of the stage, and with practiced grace, he moved towards the center of the platform and the waiting microphone.

“That’s Justyn Patko,” Carmen informed Rebecca matter-of-factly. Luckily her best friend was the queen of gossip. “He just moved here this year. From Vegas, I think. He’s in my Calculus class.”

“He’s a little creepy if you ask me,” Debbie whispered.

Creepy he might have been to some, with his black clothes trimmed with silver chains, black hair, and black fingernails. He was obviously Gothic to the core, a fashion statement Rebecca had always thought was secretly a cry for attention. But for Justyn, there seemed no other possibility. She couldn’t imagine the darkly mysterious figure dressed in earth tones or preppy, button-down shirts. They would have clashed with his dark eyes and pale skin. She had seen him in the hallway a few times, but they didn’t share any classes together, so Rebecca had never really taken the time to study him before. Despite his odd style, there was something strangely appealing about Justyn. In his own way, he was just as handsome as Tom.

The orchestra tuned for its virtuoso, and Justyn stood ready. But no one else was ready for the magical performance he began. Beside her, Carmen was rambling on about something mundane. Rebecca elbowed her to silence so she could listen to the perfectly thrilling tenor. As she listened to the song unfold, the world around her started to slip away. Gone was the high school auditorium. Gone were the rowdy teenagers. The Gothic stranger on the stage had become the embodiment of Erik, and Rebecca watched him in all his dark glory, belting out his tormented love through the words of his song. And she was as breathless with wonder as Christine herself must have been when the masked stranger serenaded her in the candlelit labyrinth of the opera house. In that moment, Justyn wasn’t just portraying the phantom. Justyn was the phantom.

“Let the music touch your soul.
Let the darkness make you whole.
Do not fear what is unknown.
Your true path has now been shown.
Listen to the words I sing.
Embrace the peace that night will bring.”

As he continued to sing in his deep but somehow angelic voice, Rebecca found that she couldn’t tear her eyes away from him. With every line, her heart began to beat faster. She truly felt the arms of night wrapping her in a warm embrace. She could almost feel the hands of the phantom glide along her body as the words poured forth. The music caressed her. It possessed her—mind, body and soul. Each word left her longing, yearning for more.

She was gawking so obviously, it was hardly surprising when Justyn felt her eyes on him and steadily met her gaze. She realized her mouth was hanging open in stunned awe, and she quickly snapped it shut. His lips moved into just a small hint of a smile. He never took his eyes off her while he sang the final verse, making her cheeks flush to the point that she felt almost feverish. But it wasn’t embarrassment but excitement, arousal even, which was sending her mind spinning in so many directions.

When the song was over, and Rebecca had recovered just a hint of her composure, she couldn’t help but burst into a healthy round of applause. A few scattered people joined in, including Debbie and Carmen after she nudged them in the ribs. But only Miss King seemed to truly appreciate the brilliance of his talent as much as Rebecca did.

“That was amazing, Justyn!” the teacher gushed.

“Lord Justyn,” he corrected as he stepped down from the stage.

A few others complimented him as well, but he took in all in stride. In fact, his serious expression never faltered as he stepped down from the stage. He seemed almost bored, like it was all he could do to hold back a yawn, despite the smiles and words of encouragement.

But not everyone in the crowd was pleased as Justyn glided down the aisle, so ethereal in his dark garments that he still resonated the spirit of the Opera Ghost. Miss King might have been excited about the newest male addition to her cast after being limited for many years, but Tom and his group of boisterous companions glared at him as he passed them by. Jay sneered and tossed a balled up piece of paper in Justyn’s direction, but the Goth was quick, and caught it in his hand without missing a beat.

“I think you dropped something,” he said.

His speaking voice was no less melodic than his singing voice, but something about his tone made Rebecca shiver. He tossed the paper back at Jay, who was nowhere near as coordinated as Justyn. He practically fell off his seat in his efforts to catch it.

“Hey vampire,” Tom called when Justyn went to walk away. “Are you sure you can handle the competition?”

Justyn smiled, a cool, sarcastic half-smile, and crossed his arms over his chest. “Are you?”

Miss King didn’t notice the short confrontation, and Justyn vanished from the auditorium as quickly and mysteriously as he had appeared. Only Rebecca had noticed the very real tension between the two boys. She wondered if it was a bad omen for them to start off the production with hard feelings and envy. That could only lead to trouble. The kind of trouble that could end with someone getting hurt. The kind of trouble that Rebecca would do whatever it took to avoid.


Laura DeLuca has other books that she written that you might be interested in her current works include Destiny, Destiny Unveiled, Phantom, Morrigan and Player (comes out in '13), Demon (spring '13).

If you would like to reach her and let her know how you like her book you can join her blog at http://authorlauradeluca.blogspot.com

*just so you know, since some beliefs might stop you from letting your child read books with certain content, there is a character in the book that claims to follow the wiccan beliefs.